• Virtual Conference
  • 10.5.20 - 10.7.20

Excellence in Education Student Scholarship

Excellence in Education Student Scholarship

We’re pleased to announce four recipients awarded 2019 Excellence in Education Scholarships. These winners demonstrate excellence in academic pursuits as well as their professional and personal lives.

The award selections are based on accomplishments in human resources, academics, campus and community involvement and recommendations from professors, advisors and/or employers. Their achievements deserve congratulations!

The scholarship recipients each receive a $1,500 grant plus shared proceeds from The HRSouthwest Conference Silent Auction. We wish these students and all of the candidates who applied for this scholarship continued success in both their educational and professional endeavors.

2019 Excellence in Education Scholarship Recipients

Dayle Hayes – Abilene Christian University

Dayle Hayes is a senior at Abilene Christian University and is perusing a degree in business marketing and human resources management. Dayle is an active member of the university’s SHRM student chapter and has been the acting president for two years. She is also a member of other student organizations on campus including the social club Sigma Theta Chi and the International Business Honor Society Eta Gamma Sigma.  She is a member of her local SHRM chapter board and was selected the 2018 Student Chapter Member of the Year.

Jabria LaRae Gentry – Texas State University

Jabria LaRae Gentry graduated Summa Cum Laude from Texas State University. Her major was business management with a concentration in human resource management. Javira is currently pursuing a Master of Science degree in human resource management, also at Texas State. Jabria was inducted into the honor society Beta Gamma Sigma where she serves as President. Additionally, she serves as the president of the university’s SHRM student chapter. She works as a graduate assistant for the business management department and each summer, works as the HR intern at the Houston Airport System and was recently promoted intern program coordinator.

Wendy Medina – Texas State University

Wendy Medina is pursuing a bachelors degree in business management with a concentration in human resources at McCoy School of Business, Texas State University.  She currently serves as vice president of professional development for the university’s SHRM student chapter. Wendy interns in HR at Schlitterbahn Waterparks and Resorts and The Hollis Co.

Yen Dang – University of Texas at Dallas

Yen Dang is pursuing a dual degree in healthcare leadership & management at the University of Texas at Dallas. Yen’s undergraduate experience along with her HR internship at North Central Texas Council of Governments has shaped her passion for advancing business through strong human capital and analyzing work processes for continuous improvement. Yen is an active member of the SHRM student chapter at UT Dallas and currently serves as the director of recruitment for the fall 2019 semester.

Thank you 2020 Sponsors

United Concordia Dental
Clarity Logo Challenger, Gray & Christmas, Inc. Higginbotham SHRM